5th District Firefighter Awards in North Wales

Dozens of firefighters from the North Penn and Indian Valleys broke bread together Wednesday night before honoring three of their own.   Telford Dive and Rescue President Neil Rivel received the President’s Award.   He says the volunteer unit is one of only two of its kind in Montgomery County and it gets requests for assistance from all over the Northeast United States.   Montgomery Township Fire Department Special Operations Battalion Chief Dave Vasconez was honored with the prestigious Earl Mayers Memorial Award for his leadership in getting the department off the ground more than eight years ago.  Perseverance Volunteer Fire Company Treasurer and Souderton Borough Manager Mike Coll received the Firefighter of the Year Award for his two decades of service.   Hatfield Quality Meats was recognized for its support with the Community Service Award.